Home News Kitui Among 15 Counties CS Mvurya Eyes for Mining

Kitui Among 15 Counties CS Mvurya Eyes for Mining


By Hopkin Reporter.

The national government will carry out a countrywide geo-survey to ascertain the kind and availability of minerals in 15 counties.

On Monday 13th March 2023, Cabinet Secretary for Mining, Blue Economy and Maritime Affairs Salim Mvurya held a consultative meeting in Nairobi with the County Governments endowed with critical mineral resources to update them on the reforms initiated by the National Government geared towards promoting transparency and inclusivity in the sector in line with Bottom-up Economic Transformation Agenda (BETA).

The CS said the Ministry had initiated the process of reforming and organizing the mining sector to ensure that they benefit all the players.

Mvurya called on counties to form artisanal mining committees, formalise small scale mining, curb illegal mining activities and increase their contribution to the sector’s earnings and Gross Domestic Product.

The Artisanal Mining Committee shall comprise of a representative of the Governor ,who shall be the chairperson of the committee, the representative of the Director of Mines who shall be the secretary, three persons not being public officers and elected by the association of artisanal miners in the county and a representative of the inspectorate division of the ministry.

He said the government will devolve laboratories in some counties to provide accurate and reliable data about the compositional analysis of minerals in the country.

Kitui Governor Dr Malombe in his remarks highlighted the need to streamline the small scale mining sector by addressing any grey areas in determining quantities mined, royalty sharing formula among others to boost the exercise that employs thousands of people directly.

Some of the counties targeted are Kitui, Homabay, West Pokot, Migori among others.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here