Home News Kitui County & National Police Service Sign MOU On Construction of...

Kitui County & National Police Service Sign MOU On Construction of Police Stations


The County Government of Kitui has today signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the National Police Service that will guide the construction of the first four police stations spread across Endau Malalani, Mutha, Nguni and Ngomeni wards.

The move to put up police stations along the borders with Tana River and Garissa counties is an attempt to realize lasting peace and protection citing the historical attacks and the recent pervasive unrests that have led to fatalities along the unsecured porous borders.

In his remarks during the signing of the MoU, Governor Dr Julius Malombe (EGH) said the move seeks to boost the security of the great people of Kitui County.

He said the county and the National Police Service are desirous of enhancing security within villages, locations, wards, sub-counties and county borders within the county through a joint cooperation.

“The conflicts we witness revolve around pre-eminently around water and pasture, immigrant communities, grazing in protected areas, charcoal production, artisanal and small scale mining, theft of livestock and poaching”. Said the Governor.

Further, Governor Malombe noted that Insecurity delays derail development agenda at both levels of government* saying the two governments have keen interest in resolving conflict situations as envisaged in Article 189 of the Constitution of Kenya 2010.

He commended the County Assembly of Kitui for appropriating funds for the construction of the four police stations which President Dr. Ruto promised to operationalize once done upon the Governor’s request during the Head of State’s visit to Kitui recently.

Present during the signing of MoU was H.E Deputy Governor Augustine Kanani,County Ministers, County Commissioner, County police Commander, members of County security and intelligence committee, Chief Officers, Chairperson and Members of county assembly committee on administration and coordination of county affairs, Chairperson and Members of the Ad hoc committee on wards bordering Tana River county Chief of Staff and Governor’s advisors, Section of MCAs and the press.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here